I do this to switch to a Hindi keyboard:-

C-x RET C-\ [TAB]

and then I choose :


My query is : How do I switch back to an English keyboard? I can see options for english-dvorak and various latin-* keyboards, but which is the default English keyboard ? Can someone please clarify? Is there a way to display the current keyboard ? I tried

C-h I 

but it says

No input method is activated now.

Just use C-\ to toggle the input method (and I recommend C-u C-\ instead of C-x RET C-\).

  • My query is : what is the name of the default input method ? – user2338823 Jun 27 '19 at 15:49
  • Depends if you mean "the input method enabled at startup" (there isn't any) or "the input method activated if I just hit `C-`" (in which case it is the last input method used, or some input method chosen based on your locale, IIRC). – Stefan Jun 27 '19 at 16:06
  • I mean the input method at startup. How can I go back to that ? – user2338823 Jun 27 '19 at 16:22
  • As I said: `C-\` – Stefan Jun 27 '19 at 17:52
  • It works fine. Thank you. – user2338823 Jun 28 '19 at 5:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.