1

I recently upgraded to Emacs 26.3 from a much older version of Emacs (22.x). One of the many changes I've noticed with Emacs 26.3 is that the ~/.emacs.d/auto-save-list/.saves-PID-HOSTNAME~ files are being deleted even when the emacs process is terminated with a SIGHUP, such as when I lose my connection to the remote server where Emacs is running. Is there a way to prevent that? I only want the ~/.emacs.d/auto-save-list/.saves-PID-HOSTNAME~ file to be deleted if I intentionally quit Emacs. That is how it worked in older versions of Emacs.

I rely on the existence of the ~/.emacs.d/auto-save-list/.saves-PID-HOSTNAME~ file to restore my session (i.e., re-open all of the files I had opened previously) whenever my emacs process is terminated. I have a restart-session.el that I've been using for over a decade that does this.

1
  • If you're going to downvote my question, I would appreciate a comment as to why.
    – Ed Sabol
    Feb 25 '20 at 2:08
0

I looked through the code, and it's not possible. I submitted a bug report to the Emacs developers about this (bug#39791), but the one that replied didn't seem inclined to agree with me that ~/.emacs.d/auto-save-list/.saves-PID-HOSTNAME~ files should be retained on SIGHUP. Another developer suggested I try desktop-save-mode instead of relying on these files to restore my terminated sessions.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.