0

I would like to have magit ask for confirmation when I've told it to delete a particular branch.

Currently it seems that magit considers the selection of a branch to delete to be the confirmation, as the documentation to magit-no-confirm says:

The user always has to confirm the deletion of a branch by accepting the default choice (or selecting another branch)

This is not enough of a confirmation for me, and I'd like to make magit ask me for confirmation after I've selected a branch to delete.

Is there any way to do this?

0

Quoting some more context from the documentation:

`delete-unmerged-branch' Once a branch has been deleted it can only be restored using low-level recovery tools provided by Git. And even then the reflog is gone. The user always has to confirm the deletion of a branch by accepting the default choice (or selecting another branch), but when a branch has not been merged yet, also make sure the user is aware of that.

In other words, if you enable this option, then Magit will ask for confirmation before deleting an unmerged branch. It won't do so for merged branches, because doing that by accident is much less dangerous.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.